Sep 27, 2021  
2016-2017 University Catalog 
2016-2017 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Geological Sciences, Department of

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics


Department Chair

Phillip A. Armstrong

Department Office/Website

McCarthy Hall 254


Sinan Akciz, Phillip Armstrong, Nicole Bonuso, David Bowman, Natalie Bursztyn, Joseph Carlin, Diane Clemens-Knott, Matthew Kirby, Jeffrey Knott, Richard Laton, Sean Loyd, Valbone Memeti, James Parham, Brady Rhodes, Adam Woods


Geological Sciences is the study of Earth through time, including its physical nature, chemical composition and dynamics, as well as its origin and evolution. In addition to the quest for understanding the way Earth works and its relation to the solar system, Earth scientists are involved in the search for energy, mineral and water resources, the evaluation and remediation of environmental hazards, and the prevention and/or prediction of natural disasters such as earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, landslides, coastal erosion and floods. Earth scientists are employed by private industry, (primarily by engineering, environmental, petroleum and mining companies), government agencies, educational institutions and research centers.

The B.S., B.A. and M.S. requirements are designed to help students develop an appreciation and understanding of Earth, as well as prepare them for: (1) employment in industry or government; (2) teaching at the elementary, high school and community college level; and (3) further graduate studies in the geological sciences. Over 30 300-, 400- and 500-level electives are offered on a regular schedule, enabling students to design individual study plans that satisfy their personal educational goals.

General Learning Goals

Programs and Courses Offered




      Geological Sciences

      Courses are designated as GEOL in the class schedule. Students must earn a “C” (2.0) or better in geology prerequisite courses for all upper-division and graduate geology courses.

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics