May 27, 2020  
2016-2017 University Catalog 
2016-2017 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Political Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Humanities and Social Sciences


Division of Politics, Administration and Justice Divsion Chair

Stacy Mallicoat

Political Science Program Coordinator

Sarah Hill

Division Office

University Hall 511


David Adams, Michelle Arsneault, Robert Castro, Pam Fiber-Ostrow, Sarah Hill, Meriem Hodge, Matthew Jarvis, Myungjung Kwon, Don Matthewson, Valerie O’Regan, Paul Peretz, Mark Redhead, Rob Robinson, Choudhury Shamim, Alexei Shevchenko, Scott Spitzer, Stephen Stambough, Samuel Stone, Yuan Ting, David Traven, Justin Tucker, Yan Xiao


Political science is the study of people’s behavior as it relates to power and public organizations. The discipline is normally divided into six subfields: political philosophy, American politics, public administration, public law, comparative government and international politics.

A major in political science prepares students for law school, government employment at the local, state and national levels, foreign service, teaching, business, journalism, or leadership in civic and political activities.

Learning Goals and Student Learning Outcomes

Programs and Courses Offered


    Bachelor of ArtsMaster of ArtsNon-Degree


      Political Science

      Courses are designated as POSC in the class schedule. POSC 100 or its equivalent is the prerequisite for all upper-division political science courses. Prerequisites may be waived only with consent of instructor.

      Page: 1 | 2

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Humanities and Social Sciences