May 26, 2024  
2013-2015 University Catalog 
2013-2015 University Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Physics, B.S.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments and Programs

(120 units)

Bachelor of Science in Physics

The Bachelor of Science in Physics requires 73 units in the major, including core courses, and upper-division physics, science and engineering electives. Each course in physics, mathematics, chemistry and English that is required for the major must be completed with a “C” (2.0) or better.

Formal academic advisement is required for all physics majors at least once every academic year.

Lower Division (32-34 units)

Upper-Division Physics Electives (14 units)

Must include one laboratory course.

For students completing a minor or second major in mathematics, another science, engineering or computer science, the upper-division physics elective requirement is 12 units.

Upper-Division Science and Engineering Electives (3 units)

Additional upper-division courses in mathematics, science, engineering and/or computer science approved by the department.

Upper-Division Writing Requirement (3 units)

One of the following:

Total (120 units)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments and Programs